Certified Communities

About Certified Communities

Certified Communities are those communities that have been delegated authority by SMC under the WDO to administer all, or portions of, the Lake County Watershed Development Ordinance (WDO) within their community limits. Certified Communities (PDF) apply for re-certification every three years. See Enforcement Officers (PDF) for community contact information. Communities may have regulations that are more stringent than the WDO.

All Lake County communities have one of the following WDO permitting authority designations:
  • Fully Certified - Both Standard and Isolated Waters of Lake County (IWLC) Certified
  • Only Standard Certification
  • Only IWLC Certified
  • Non-Certified
If your project is in an unincorporated area, contact Mea Blauer, Lake County Planning, Building and Development (PB&D), 847-377-2333. SMC is the permitting authority for Non-Certified communities (May 8, 2015) (PDF). SMC also administers wetland provisions of the WDO and issues wetland approvals within communities that only have Standard Certification.

Related Documents